We are delighted to announce that the Ullapool High School Senior Dux for 2016 is Sean Osborne of S6.  A worthy winner, not only did Sean obtain excellent results in this year’s SQA exam diet but, throughout his time in High School, has shown himself to be an outstanding student across all areas of the curriculum.  He is also a supportive and popular individual among his fellow pupils and it was a pleasure to recognise his achievements.  As well as receiving the Senior Dux trophy, Sean is also the first recipient of The Rev. John H. B. Macphail Award, donated by Wm. Alasdair B. Macphail of Achiltibuie, which provides an additional gift of £50 to the winner of the Senior Dux.


Overall Ullapool High School students have, in recent years, performed very well each year in the SQA exam diet and it has long been felt that a way should be found to celebrate more of these fine achievements.  Last year, 4 students attained at least 5 Highers at grade A and so, to acknowledge this, the school decided to introduce the Proxime Accessit Award– a long-established educational tradition which rewards those who have excelled academically and are Runners Up.  Step forward Eilidh Anderson, Helen Ross and Elena Whittle, our worthy winners for 2016 who each received a certificate and a cash gift of £30 at the presentation just before the end of last term. 





                        WINNERS                                                                                        RUNNERS-UP


            Morven Aird, Leah Cunningham, Kate Gordon,            Kacey Lees, Tanya Stewart, Robyn Turnbull,

            Rita Macdonald, Macy Paton, Kira Patterson,               Judith Urquhart

            Amelie Pomeroy-Soos, Anna Sears                             


            Adam Barnes, Jack Firth-Bernard, Finlay Hearton        Morgan Bond, Adam Buchanan,

            Zak Johnson, Alex Lintern, Duncan MacBride              Bruin Pellant

            Angus Macpherson


            Kya Elliot, Mhairi Macartney, Kirsty Marsh,                  India Campbell, Arianna Hardy, India Jones,

Ellie Pagano, Kirsty Sears,                                           Louise Macleod, Amy Macgregor, Katie Matheson,

                                                                                                Shaye McLeod


            Torin McFedries, Kepler Petzall, Tyler Richards,          Rohan Burne, Iain Campbell, Ruairidh Kelly,

            Sean Richardson, Gordon Urquhart                             Torran Maclean, Farquhar Ross


            Bella Dalgetty, Nina Macdonald,                                   Tiree Collins, Carla Lees, Isla Macpherson,

            Alex McGuire-Gray, Lauren Ross,                                 Maria Strang


            Callum Belshaw, Joe Firth-Bernard, Ethan Gordon,     Gregor Clooney, Jo Crook, Gillie O’Flaherty,

            Stephen Mackenzie, William Saywell                           Calum Peach 


            Ellie Cunningham, Jessica Pyke,                                 Alexia Campbell, Louisa Clarke, Ruth Hinsley,

            Emily Themistokleous                                                 Rebecca Tyson, Abygael Urquhart

            John Angell, Ruairidh Buxton, Matthew Matheson,      Robbie Aird, Kyle Cameron, Latharn Macdonald,

            DJ Paton, Fingal Summers                                          Gregor Mackenzie, Joseph Marsh


The Ron Mitchell Memorial Award for Technical Education      Fiona Driver

The Science Prize, donated by Wester Ross Salmon                  Sean Osborne

The History Prize                                                                              Eilidh Anderson

The Katharine Buchanan Macphail Prize                                      Annie McDougall

The Coigach Cup for Foreign Languages                                     Elena Whittle + Nellie Wilson

The Isobel Nicol Quaich for Poetry/Creative Writing                   Oisean Burnett + Eilidh Summers

The Lewis Fisher Loving Cup                                                         Rory Matheson

The Joanne Fotheringham Prize for Excellence in Piping          Ruairidh Buxton

The Joanne Fotheringham Prize for Excellence in Gaelic          John Angell